Third-country import into New Zealand
Serbia to New Zealand crosses a customs border. A customs declaration is filed on entry.
Check a trade route
Start with what is already known. We separate the country route, the goods and the companies, then show what is established, what remains unknown and the next safe action.
Serbia to New Zealand is a third-country movement. Our sanctions register has no reviewed coverage for New Zealand, so the answer shows the gap instead of assuming ordinary treatment.
TR-NZ-RS-28925CBuyer in New Zealand → Supplier in Serbia · Goods not specifiedThird-country import into New Zealand
Serbia to New Zealand crosses a customs border. A customs declaration is filed on entry.
New Zealand sanctions regime not connected
We hold no machine-readable sanctions source for a buyer established in New Zealand or a supplier established in Serbia, so this facet cannot be answered from our data.
Check the New Zealand sanctions and export-control rules at the responsible authority · Name the payment currency and bank to surface any US, UK or EU nexus
No agreement found in our register
Our register of blocs and selected bilateral agreements has no entry covering Serbia and New Zealand. It is not exhaustive (for example it does not yet hold the EEA, the EU-Switzerland agreements or RCEP), so this is not a finding that no agreement exists or that MFN duty applies; check the WTO database before pricing.
Check the WTO RTA database for the exact pair · Add the exact HS code
Import GST 15% in New Zealand
New Zealand charges import GST of 15% on goods plus freight plus duty. Duty depends on the HS code and is not stated here. The Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 apply from 10 September 2026 and update Customs-controlled area licensing; origin-specific arrangement rules are stated only on the lanes they bind (Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026, applies from 2026-09-10). New Zealand Customs and MPI charge goods management levies on imported goods from 1 April 2026 (Goods management levies, applies from 2026-04-01).
Add the exact HS code for the duty rate
Goods not specified
Without the exact HS or CN code neither duty nor product rules can be established.
Add the exact HS or CN code · Describe the product
No supplier company selected
Country information cannot establish a supplier identity. Select the exact legal entity to screen it.
Select or establish the exact legal entity
Applies from 2026-09-10: The Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 apply from 10 September 2026 and update Customs-controlled area licensing; origin-specific arrangement rules are stated only on the lanes they bind.
Act: Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026, Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 (New Zealand Customs Service, Sep 10, 2026)
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2026-08-21: New Zealand adopted Food Standards Code Amendment 250 from 21 August 2026: caffeine may not be sold at retail as a food, high-caffeine guarana extract is restricted, and caffeine is permitted in formulated supplementary sports foods within limits.
Act: Food Standards Code Amendments 249, 250 and 251 adoption notice, Adoption of recent amendments to joint food standards under the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code Notice (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Aug 19, 2026)
Condition: Only products containing added caffeine or guarana extract
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2026-05-01: From 1 May 2026 regulated energy using products sold in New Zealand meet the amended minimum energy performance and labelling rules of SL 2025/227.
Act: SL 2025/227, Energy Efficiency (Energy Using Products) Amendment Regulations 2025 (Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (EECA E3 programme), Jan 1, 2025)
Condition: Only product classes regulated under the Energy Efficiency (Energy Using Products) Regulations, for example refrigerators, washing machines, dishwashers, dryers, external power supplies, three-phase motors and large air conditioners
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2026-04-01: New Zealand Customs and MPI charge goods management levies on imported goods from 1 April 2026.
Act: Goods management levies, Customs and MPI goods management levies (New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries, Apr 1, 2026)
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2026-03-16: Fresh fruit and vegetables enter New Zealand under MPI Standard 152.02 of 2026, in force from 16 March 2026, which replaced the 2025 standard.
Document: Import health standard 152.02 conditions and phytosanitary certification where required
Act: MPI Standard 152.02, Importation and Clearance of Fresh Fruit and Vegetables into New Zealand (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand, Mar 13, 2026)
Condition: Only fresh fruit and vegetables
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2026-01-01: Cosmetics imported into New Zealand follow the updated Cosmetic Products Group Standard, in effect since 1 January 2026, including its ingredient schedules.
Act: Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated), Cosmetic Products Group Standard (Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Jan 1, 2026)
Condition: Check the product formulation against the group standard ingredient schedules
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2026-01-01: From 1 January 2026 every New Zealand importer of hazardous substances reports its NZBN and the HSNO approval or group standard for each substance to the EPA.
Act: HSNO reporting requirements, Hazardous substances: information importers and manufacturers must provide (Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Jan 1, 2026)
Condition: Only hazardous substances under the HSNO Act
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2025-11-05: Fresh cut flowers and foliage enter New Zealand under the 2025 import health standard, and only when the species and origin are listed and a pathway is published in PIER.
Act: IHS Fresh Cut Flowers and Foliage for Decorative Purposes 2025, Import Health Standard: Fresh Cut Flowers and Foliage for Decorative Purposes (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand, Nov 5, 2025)
Condition: Species and origin country listed in the standard, with a pathway in PIER
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2025-10-01: Recognition notices under section 272HA of the Building Act, in force since 1 October 2025, let building products certified under a recognised overseas scheme be accepted in New Zealand within the notice scope.
Document: Certificate from a recognised overseas scheme, used within its scope
Act: Recognition notices, Building Act 2004 s272HA, Recognition notices for overseas certified building products (Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE), Oct 1, 2025)
Condition: Only product types named in a recognition notice (for example RN-10001 showers)
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2025-09-01: Radio equipment supplied in New Zealand follows the Radiocommunications Regulations (Radio Standards) Notice 2025, released on 1 September 2025.
Act: Radiocommunications Regulations (Radio Standards) Notice 2025, Radio Standards Notice 2025 (Radio Spectrum Management (MBIE), Sep 1, 2025)
Condition: Only products that transmit radio signals
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2025-06-17: Disposable vaping devices are banned in New Zealand; the ban and related changes came into force in stages on 18 December 2024 and 17 June 2025.
Act: Smokefree Environments and Regulated Products Act 1990 (amendments), Recent changes to smokefree laws (Ministry of Health (Manatu Hauora), Dec 18, 2024)
Condition: Only disposable vaping devices
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Dates ahead
Applies from 2028-03-31: The Organic Notice: Operators 2026 was made on 10 August 2026 and comes into force on 31 March 2028.
Act: Organic Notice: Operators 2026, Organic Notice: Operators 2026 (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Aug 10, 2026)
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2027-07-01: From 1 July 2027 cosmetics containing more than 10% of the UV filter homosalate may not be imported into or manufactured in New Zealand.
Act: Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated), Cosmetic Products Group Standard (Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Jan 1, 2026)
Condition: Only cosmetics with more than 10% homosalate
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2027-02-01: From 1 February 2027 food imported for sale into New Zealand follows the Food Notice: Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026, including its list of foods of high regulatory interest.
Act: Food Notice: Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026, Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026 (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), New Zealand Food Safety, May 1, 2026)
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2027-01-01: From 1 January 2027 cosmetic products containing PFAS ingredients may not be imported into or manufactured in New Zealand.
Act: Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated), Cosmetic Products Group Standard (Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Jan 1, 2026)
Condition: Only cosmetics containing PFAS ingredients
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Applies from 2026-11-12: Electrical equipment supplied in New Zealand must comply with the Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025 from 12 November 2026.
Act: Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025, Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025 (WorkSafe New Zealand, Nov 13, 2025)
Condition: Only electrical equipment and appliances covered by the Electricity (Safety) Regulations 2010
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
Corridor rules for all goods
The Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 apply from 10 September 2026 and update Customs-controlled area licensing; origin-specific arrangement rules are stated only on the lanes they bind.
Act: Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026, Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 (New Zealand Customs Service, Sep 10, 2026)
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
New Zealand Customs and MPI charge goods management levies on imported goods from 1 April 2026.
Act: Goods management levies, Customs and MPI goods management levies (New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries, Apr 1, 2026)
Official source · Observed Sep 17, 2026
17 verified entries on this lane as of 2026-10-22. Name a product category to see the requirements for the goods. The register lists only what we have opened and quoted from the official act: silence is a gap in our register, not a clearance.
Answer before detail
Country data cannot clear a transaction by itself. The boundary stays visible.
Established now
Still needed
Commercial invoice and packing list
Core shipment and valuation documents.
Transport document
Bill of lading, air waybill or road consignment note.
Customs declaration
Filed by the importer or a customs representative.
Proof of origin
Format depends on the applicable agreement, if any.
Product compliance evidence
Depends on the product code and intended use.
Typical and mandatory are kept separate. Each requirement names the responsible party.
WTO, tariff data (MFN applied rates by member)
Observed Aug 27, 2026 · Live tariff query required
WTO, Regional Trade Agreements database
Observed Aug 27, 2026 · Live register of notified agreements
Inland Revenue NZ
Observed Jul 21, 2026 · Standard rate reviewed 2026-07-21
New Zealand Customs Service, Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-09-10, applies from 2026-09-10
New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries, Goods management levies
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-04-01, applies from 2026-04-01
Access2Markets, My Trade Assistant (tariffs and product requirements by HS code)
Observed Aug 27, 2026 · Live product query required
Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Organic Notice: Operators 2026
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-08-10, applies from 2028-03-31
Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated)
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-01-01, applies from 2027-07-01
Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), New Zealand Food Safety, Food Notice: Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-05-01, applies from 2027-02-01
Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated)
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-01-01, applies from 2027-01-01
WorkSafe New Zealand, Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2025-11-13, applies from 2026-11-12
Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Food Standards Code Amendments 249, 250 and 251 adoption notice
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-08-19, applies from 2026-08-21
Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (EECA E3 programme), SL 2025/227
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2025-01-01, applies from 2026-05-01
Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand, MPI Standard 152.02
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-03-13, applies from 2026-03-16
Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated)
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-01-01, applies from 2026-01-01
Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), HSNO reporting requirements
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2026-01-01, applies from 2026-01-01
Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand, IHS Fresh Cut Flowers and Foliage for Decorative Purposes 2025
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2025-11-05, applies from 2025-11-05
Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE), Recognition notices, Building Act 2004 s272HA
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2025-10-01, applies from 2025-10-01
Radio Spectrum Management (MBIE), Radiocommunications Regulations (Radio Standards) Notice 2025
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2025-09-01, applies from 2025-09-01
Ministry of Health (Manatu Hauora), Smokefree Environments and Regulated Products Act 1990 (amendments)
Observed Sep 17, 2026 · Act of 2024-12-18, applies from 2025-06-17
TR-NZ-RS-28925C+The same facet states, sources, evidence dates, missing inputs and transaction context as structured JSON.
{
"schema_version": "trade-route-answer.v1",
"kind": "trade_route_answer",
"context_id": "TR-NZ-RS-28925C",
"mode": "third_country",
"transaction": {
"buyer": {
"company_id": null,
"name": "Buyer in New Zealand",
"country": "NZ"
},
"supplier": {
"company_id": null,
"name": "Supplier in Serbia",
"country": "RS"
},
"movement": {
"ship_from": "RS",
"origin_country": "RS"
},
"goods": {
"description": null,
"hs_code": null,
"end_use": "unknown"
},
"payment": {
"currency": null,
"bank_jurisdiction": "unknown"
}
},
"verdict": {
"state": "review",
"title": "Country route described, coverage incomplete. No conclusion on this transaction yet.",
"summary": "Serbia to New Zealand is a third-country movement. Our sanctions register has no reviewed coverage for New Zealand, so the answer shows the gap instead of assuming ordinary treatment."
},
"coverage_summary": "2 established · 4 not checked",
"facets": [
{
"key": "route",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Third-country import into New Zealand",
"explanation": "Serbia to New Zealand crosses a customs border. A customs declaration is filed on entry.",
"scope": "Country route only. Says nothing about the goods or the parties.",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "wto-tariff-data",
"source_label": "WTO, tariff data (MFN applied rates by member)",
"source_url": "https://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/tariffs_e/tariff_data_e.htm",
"observed_at": "2026-08-27",
"source_as_of": "Live tariff query required"
}
]
},
{
"key": "restrictions",
"state": "not_checked",
"conclusion": "New Zealand sanctions regime not connected",
"explanation": "We hold no machine-readable sanctions source for a buyer established in New Zealand or a supplier established in Serbia, so this facet cannot be answered from our data.",
"scope": "No source connected for either side's jurisdiction",
"missing_inputs": [
"Check the New Zealand sanctions and export-control rules at the responsible authority",
"Name the payment currency and bank to surface any US, UK or EU nexus"
],
"sources": []
},
{
"key": "trade_preference",
"state": "not_checked",
"conclusion": "No agreement found in our register",
"explanation": "Our register of blocs and selected bilateral agreements has no entry covering Serbia and New Zealand. It is not exhaustive (for example it does not yet hold the EEA, the EU-Switzerland agreements or RCEP), so this is not a finding that no agreement exists or that MFN duty applies; check the WTO database before pricing.",
"scope": "Our agreement register (13 blocs, selected bilateral FTAs)",
"missing_inputs": [
"Check the WTO RTA database for the exact pair",
"Add the exact HS code"
],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "wto-rta-is",
"source_label": "WTO, Regional Trade Agreements database",
"source_url": "https://rtais.wto.org/UI/PublicMaintainRTAHome.aspx",
"observed_at": "2026-08-27",
"source_as_of": "Live register of notified agreements"
}
]
},
{
"key": "vat_and_customs",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Import GST 15% in New Zealand",
"explanation": "New Zealand charges import GST of 15% on goods plus freight plus duty. Duty depends on the HS code and is not stated here. The Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 apply from 10 September 2026 and update Customs-controlled area licensing; origin-specific arrangement rules are stated only on the lanes they bind (Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026, applies from 2026-09-10). New Zealand Customs and MPI charge goods management levies on imported goods from 1 April 2026 (Goods management levies, applies from 2026-04-01).",
"scope": "Standard rate on a B2B import; reduced rates, deferral schemes and duty are outside this statement",
"missing_inputs": [
"Add the exact HS code for the duty rate"
],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "vat-nz",
"source_label": "Inland Revenue NZ",
"source_url": "https://www.ird.govt.nz/gst",
"observed_at": "2026-07-21",
"source_as_of": "Standard rate reviewed 2026-07-21"
},
{
"source_id": "nz-customs-excise-amendment-no2-2026",
"source_label": "New Zealand Customs Service, Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026",
"source_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/about-us/news/important-notices/amended-customs-regulations-take-effect-on-10-september-2026",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-09-10, applies from 2026-09-10"
},
{
"source_id": "nz-goods-management-levies-2026",
"source_label": "New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries, Goods management levies",
"source_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/business/goods-levies",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-04-01, applies from 2026-04-01"
}
]
},
{
"key": "goods",
"state": "not_checked",
"conclusion": "Goods not specified",
"explanation": "Without the exact HS or CN code neither duty nor product rules can be established.",
"scope": "Product-specific requirements per code",
"missing_inputs": [
"Add the exact HS or CN code",
"Describe the product"
],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "access2markets",
"source_label": "Access2Markets, My Trade Assistant (tariffs and product requirements by HS code)",
"source_url": "https://trade.ec.europa.eu/access-to-markets/en/home",
"observed_at": "2026-08-27",
"source_as_of": "Live product query required"
}
]
},
{
"key": "company_screening",
"state": "not_checked",
"conclusion": "No supplier company selected",
"explanation": "Country information cannot establish a supplier identity. Select the exact legal entity to screen it.",
"scope": "No counterparty in scope",
"missing_inputs": [
"Select or establish the exact legal entity"
],
"sources": []
}
],
"documents": [
{
"title": "Commercial invoice and packing list",
"note": "Core shipment and valuation documents.",
"responsible_party": "Supplier",
"requirement": "Typical"
},
{
"title": "Transport document",
"note": "Bill of lading, air waybill or road consignment note.",
"responsible_party": "Carrier",
"requirement": "Typical"
},
{
"title": "Customs declaration",
"note": "Filed by the importer or a customs representative.",
"responsible_party": "Buyer / broker",
"requirement": "Mandatory"
},
{
"title": "Proof of origin",
"note": "Format depends on the applicable agreement, if any.",
"responsible_party": "Supplier",
"requirement": "Conditional"
},
{
"title": "Product compliance evidence",
"note": "Depends on the product code and intended use.",
"responsible_party": "Supplier",
"requirement": "Conditional"
}
],
"next_actions": [
"company_passport",
"pre_payment_check",
"landed_cost",
"alternative_suppliers",
"rfq"
],
"human_page": "https://hellofapartner.com/can-i-trade/new-zealand/serbia",
"regime_layer": {
"as_of": "2026-10-22",
"window_months": 18,
"product": [],
"corridor": [
{
"key": "corridor_rule",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "The Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 apply from 10 September 2026 and update Customs-controlled area licensing; origin-specific arrangement rules are stated only on the lanes they bind.",
"explanation": "Responsible: broker. Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026, Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 (New Zealand Customs Service, 2026-09-10); applies from 2026-09-10.",
"scope": "All goods on this lane",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-customs-excise-amendment-no2-2026",
"source_label": "New Zealand Customs Service, Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026",
"source_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/about-us/news/important-notices/amended-customs-regulations-take-effect-on-10-september-2026",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-09-10, applies from 2026-09-10"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-customs-excise-amendment-no2-2026",
"layer": "corridor",
"kind": "declaration",
"actor": "broker",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026",
"title": "Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026",
"date": "2026-09-10",
"authority": "New Zealand Customs Service",
"official_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/about-us/news/important-notices/amended-customs-regulations-take-effect-on-10-september-2026"
},
"valid_from": "2026-09-10",
"valid_to": null,
"category_ids": "all",
"facet_hook": "vat_and_customs",
"change_date": "2026-09-10",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "corridor_rule",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "New Zealand Customs and MPI charge goods management levies on imported goods from 1 April 2026.",
"explanation": "Responsible: buyer. Goods management levies, Customs and MPI goods management levies (New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries, 2026-04-01); applies from 2026-04-01.",
"scope": "All goods on this lane",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-goods-management-levies-2026",
"source_label": "New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries, Goods management levies",
"source_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/business/goods-levies",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-04-01, applies from 2026-04-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-goods-management-levies-2026",
"layer": "corridor",
"kind": "tax",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Goods management levies",
"title": "Customs and MPI goods management levies",
"date": "2026-04-01",
"authority": "New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries",
"official_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/business/goods-levies"
},
"valid_from": "2026-04-01",
"valid_to": null,
"category_ids": "all",
"facet_hook": "vat_and_customs",
"change_date": "2026-04-01",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
}
],
"changes": [
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "needs_input",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2028-03-31: The Organic Notice: Operators 2026 was made on 10 August 2026 and comes into force on 31 March 2028.",
"explanation": "Adopted, not yet applicable. Organic Notice: Operators 2026, Organic Notice: Operators 2026 (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), 2026-08-10); applies from 2028-03-31.",
"scope": "Organic Food",
"missing_inputs": [
"Applies from 2028-03-31"
],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-organic-notice-operators-2026",
"source_label": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Organic Notice: Operators 2026",
"source_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/agriculture/organic-product-requirements-in-nz/changes-to-organic-products-law",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-08-10, applies from 2028-03-31"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-organic-notice-operators-2026",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "labelling",
"actor": "both",
"legal_state": "adopted_future",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Organic Notice: Operators 2026",
"title": "Organic Notice: Operators 2026",
"date": "2026-08-10",
"authority": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI)",
"official_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/agriculture/organic-product-requirements-in-nz/changes-to-organic-products-law"
},
"valid_from": "2028-03-31",
"valid_to": null,
"category_ids": [
"food-organic"
],
"change_date": "2028-03-31",
"ahead": true,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "needs_input",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2027-07-01: From 1 July 2027 cosmetics containing more than 10% of the UV filter homosalate may not be imported into or manufactured in New Zealand.",
"explanation": "Adopted, not yet applicable. Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated), Cosmetic Products Group Standard (Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), 2026-01-01); applies from 2027-07-01.",
"scope": "Skincare & Cosmetics, Personal Care, Haircare & Styling, Fragrance & Perfume",
"missing_inputs": [
"Applies from 2027-07-01"
],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-cosmetics-homosalate-import-ban-2027",
"source_label": "Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated)",
"source_url": "https://www.epa.govt.nz/hazardous-substances/rules-notices-and-how-to-comply/specific-substance-guidance/cosmetics/updated-rules-for-cosmetics/",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-01-01, applies from 2027-07-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-cosmetics-homosalate-import-ban-2027",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "prohibition",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "adopted_future",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated)",
"title": "Cosmetic Products Group Standard",
"date": "2026-01-01",
"authority": "Environmental Protection Authority (EPA)",
"official_url": "https://www.epa.govt.nz/hazardous-substances/rules-notices-and-how-to-comply/specific-substance-guidance/cosmetics/updated-rules-for-cosmetics/"
},
"valid_from": "2027-07-01",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only cosmetics with more than 10% homosalate",
"category_ids": [
"beauty-skincare",
"beauty-personal-care",
"beauty-haircare",
"beauty-fragrance"
],
"change_date": "2027-07-01",
"ahead": true,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "needs_input",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2027-02-01: From 1 February 2027 food imported for sale into New Zealand follows the Food Notice: Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026, including its list of foods of high regulatory interest.",
"explanation": "Adopted, not yet applicable. Food Notice: Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026, Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026 (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), New Zealand Food Safety, 2026-05-01); applies from 2027-02-01.",
"scope": "Organic Food, Beverages, Confectionery & Snacks, Specialty & Gourmet Food, Pantry & Dry Goods, Frozen & Chilled Food, Dairy Products, Meat & Poultry, Seafood & Aquaculture, Food Ingredients & Raw Materials",
"missing_inputs": [
"Applies from 2027-02-01"
],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-food-notice-importers-2026",
"source_label": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), New Zealand Food Safety, Food Notice: Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026",
"source_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/food-business/running-a-food-business/food-act-2014/food-act-legislation-notices-and-standards",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-05-01, applies from 2027-02-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-food-notice-importers-2026",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "registration",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "adopted_future",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Food Notice: Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026",
"title": "Requirements for Registered Food Importers and Imported Food for Sale 2026",
"date": "2026-05-01",
"authority": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), New Zealand Food Safety",
"official_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/food-business/running-a-food-business/food-act-2014/food-act-legislation-notices-and-standards"
},
"valid_from": "2027-02-01",
"valid_to": null,
"category_ids": [
"food-organic",
"food-beverage",
"food-confectionery",
"food-specialty",
"food-pantry",
"food-frozen-chilled",
"food-dairy",
"food-meat",
"food-seafood",
"food-ingredients"
],
"supersedes": "nz-food-notice-importers-2024",
"change_date": "2027-02-01",
"ahead": true,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "needs_input",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2027-01-01: From 1 January 2027 cosmetic products containing PFAS ingredients may not be imported into or manufactured in New Zealand.",
"explanation": "Adopted, not yet applicable. Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated), Cosmetic Products Group Standard (Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), 2026-01-01); applies from 2027-01-01.",
"scope": "Skincare & Cosmetics, Personal Care, Haircare & Styling, Fragrance & Perfume",
"missing_inputs": [
"Applies from 2027-01-01"
],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-cosmetics-pfas-import-ban-2027",
"source_label": "Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated)",
"source_url": "https://www.epa.govt.nz/hazardous-substances/rules-notices-and-how-to-comply/specific-substance-guidance/cosmetics/updated-rules-for-cosmetics/",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-01-01, applies from 2027-01-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-cosmetics-pfas-import-ban-2027",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "prohibition",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "adopted_future",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated)",
"title": "Cosmetic Products Group Standard",
"date": "2026-01-01",
"authority": "Environmental Protection Authority (EPA)",
"official_url": "https://www.epa.govt.nz/hazardous-substances/rules-notices-and-how-to-comply/specific-substance-guidance/cosmetics/updated-rules-for-cosmetics/"
},
"valid_from": "2027-01-01",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only cosmetics containing PFAS ingredients",
"category_ids": [
"beauty-skincare",
"beauty-personal-care",
"beauty-haircare",
"beauty-fragrance"
],
"change_date": "2027-01-01",
"ahead": true,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "needs_input",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2026-11-12: Electrical equipment supplied in New Zealand must comply with the Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025 from 12 November 2026.",
"explanation": "Adopted, not yet applicable. Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025, Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025 (WorkSafe New Zealand, 2025-11-13); applies from 2026-11-12.",
"scope": "Home Appliances, Lighting & Lamps, Electrical & Power Equipment, Consumer Electronics",
"missing_inputs": [
"Applies from 2026-11-12"
],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-electricity-safety-amendment-2025",
"source_label": "WorkSafe New Zealand, Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025",
"source_url": "https://www.worksafe.govt.nz/laws-and-regulations/regulations/electrical-regulations/electricity-safety-regulations-2010/",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2025-11-13, applies from 2026-11-12"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-electricity-safety-amendment-2025",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "declaration",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "adopted_future",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025",
"title": "Electricity (Safety) Amendment Regulations 2025",
"date": "2025-11-13",
"authority": "WorkSafe New Zealand",
"official_url": "https://www.worksafe.govt.nz/laws-and-regulations/regulations/electrical-regulations/electricity-safety-regulations-2010/"
},
"valid_from": "2026-11-12",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only electrical equipment and appliances covered by the Electricity (Safety) Regulations 2010",
"category_ids": [
"home-appliances",
"home-lighting",
"industrial-electrical",
"tech-electronics"
],
"change_date": "2026-11-12",
"ahead": true,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2026-09-10: The Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 apply from 10 September 2026 and update Customs-controlled area licensing; origin-specific arrangement rules are stated only on the lanes they bind.",
"explanation": "In force. Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026, Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026 (New Zealand Customs Service, 2026-09-10); applies from 2026-09-10.",
"scope": "All goods on this lane",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-customs-excise-amendment-no2-2026",
"source_label": "New Zealand Customs Service, Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026",
"source_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/about-us/news/important-notices/amended-customs-regulations-take-effect-on-10-september-2026",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-09-10, applies from 2026-09-10"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-customs-excise-amendment-no2-2026",
"layer": "corridor",
"kind": "declaration",
"actor": "broker",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026",
"title": "Customs and Excise Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2026",
"date": "2026-09-10",
"authority": "New Zealand Customs Service",
"official_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/about-us/news/important-notices/amended-customs-regulations-take-effect-on-10-september-2026"
},
"valid_from": "2026-09-10",
"valid_to": null,
"category_ids": "all",
"facet_hook": "vat_and_customs",
"change_date": "2026-09-10",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "restriction_found",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2026-08-21: New Zealand adopted Food Standards Code Amendment 250 from 21 August 2026: caffeine may not be sold at retail as a food, high-caffeine guarana extract is restricted, and caffeine is permitted in formulated supplementary sports foods within limits.",
"explanation": "In force. Food Standards Code Amendments 249, 250 and 251 adoption notice, Adoption of recent amendments to joint food standards under the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code Notice (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), 2026-08-19); applies from 2026-08-21.",
"scope": "Beverages, Supplements & Wellness, Fitness & Gym Equipment, Specialty & Gourmet Food",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-fsanz-amendment-250-caffeine",
"source_label": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Food Standards Code Amendments 249, 250 and 251 adoption notice",
"source_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/dmsdocument/72662/direct",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-08-19, applies from 2026-08-21"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-fsanz-amendment-250-caffeine",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "prohibition",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Food Standards Code Amendments 249, 250 and 251 adoption notice",
"title": "Adoption of recent amendments to joint food standards under the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code Notice",
"date": "2026-08-19",
"authority": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI)",
"official_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/dmsdocument/72662/direct"
},
"valid_from": "2026-08-21",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only products containing added caffeine or guarana extract",
"category_ids": [
"food-beverage",
"beauty-supplements",
"sports-fitness",
"food-specialty"
],
"change_date": "2026-08-21",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2026-05-01: From 1 May 2026 regulated energy using products sold in New Zealand meet the amended minimum energy performance and labelling rules of SL 2025/227.",
"explanation": "In force. SL 2025/227, Energy Efficiency (Energy Using Products) Amendment Regulations 2025 (Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (EECA E3 programme), 2025-01-01); applies from 2026-05-01.",
"scope": "Home Appliances, Electrical & Power Equipment, Industrial Machinery",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-energy-efficiency-amendment-2025-227",
"source_label": "Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (EECA E3 programme), SL 2025/227",
"source_url": "https://www.legislation.govt.nz/secondary-legislation/pco-drafted/2025/227/en/latest/",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2025-01-01, applies from 2026-05-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-energy-efficiency-amendment-2025-227",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "labelling",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "SL 2025/227",
"title": "Energy Efficiency (Energy Using Products) Amendment Regulations 2025",
"date": "2025-01-01",
"authority": "Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (EECA E3 programme)",
"official_url": "https://www.legislation.govt.nz/secondary-legislation/pco-drafted/2025/227/en/latest/"
},
"valid_from": "2026-05-01",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only product classes regulated under the Energy Efficiency (Energy Using Products) Regulations, for example refrigerators, washing machines, dishwashers, dryers, external power supplies, three-phase motors and large air conditioners",
"category_ids": [
"home-appliances",
"industrial-electrical",
"industrial-machinery"
],
"change_date": "2026-05-01",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2026-04-01: New Zealand Customs and MPI charge goods management levies on imported goods from 1 April 2026.",
"explanation": "In force. Goods management levies, Customs and MPI goods management levies (New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries, 2026-04-01); applies from 2026-04-01.",
"scope": "All goods on this lane",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-goods-management-levies-2026",
"source_label": "New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries, Goods management levies",
"source_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/business/goods-levies",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-04-01, applies from 2026-04-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-goods-management-levies-2026",
"layer": "corridor",
"kind": "tax",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Goods management levies",
"title": "Customs and MPI goods management levies",
"date": "2026-04-01",
"authority": "New Zealand Customs Service and Ministry for Primary Industries",
"official_url": "https://www.customs.govt.nz/business/goods-levies"
},
"valid_from": "2026-04-01",
"valid_to": null,
"category_ids": "all",
"facet_hook": "vat_and_customs",
"change_date": "2026-04-01",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2026-03-16: Fresh fruit and vegetables enter New Zealand under MPI Standard 152.02 of 2026, in force from 16 March 2026, which replaced the 2025 standard.",
"explanation": "In force. MPI Standard 152.02, Importation and Clearance of Fresh Fruit and Vegetables into New Zealand (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand, 2026-03-13); applies from 2026-03-16.",
"scope": "Specialty & Gourmet Food, Organic Food, Food Ingredients & Raw Materials, Frozen & Chilled Food",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-ihs-fresh-fruit-vegetables-2026",
"source_label": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand, MPI Standard 152.02",
"source_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/dmsdocument/1147/direct",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-03-13, applies from 2026-03-16"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-ihs-fresh-fruit-vegetables-2026",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "quarantine",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": "Import health standard 152.02 conditions and phytosanitary certification where required",
"act": {
"number": "MPI Standard 152.02",
"title": "Importation and Clearance of Fresh Fruit and Vegetables into New Zealand",
"date": "2026-03-13",
"authority": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand",
"official_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/dmsdocument/1147/direct"
},
"valid_from": "2026-03-16",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only fresh fruit and vegetables",
"category_ids": [
"food-specialty",
"food-organic",
"food-ingredients",
"food-frozen-chilled"
],
"change_date": "2026-03-16",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2026-01-01: Cosmetics imported into New Zealand follow the updated Cosmetic Products Group Standard, in effect since 1 January 2026, including its ingredient schedules.",
"explanation": "In force. Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated), Cosmetic Products Group Standard (Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), 2026-01-01); applies from 2026-01-01.",
"scope": "Skincare & Cosmetics, Personal Care, Haircare & Styling, Fragrance & Perfume",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-cosmetics-group-standard-2026",
"source_label": "Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated)",
"source_url": "https://www.epa.govt.nz/hazardous-substances/rules-notices-and-how-to-comply/specific-substance-guidance/cosmetics/updated-rules-for-cosmetics/",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-01-01, applies from 2026-01-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-cosmetics-group-standard-2026",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "declaration",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Cosmetic Products Group Standard 2020 (consolidated)",
"title": "Cosmetic Products Group Standard",
"date": "2026-01-01",
"authority": "Environmental Protection Authority (EPA)",
"official_url": "https://www.epa.govt.nz/hazardous-substances/rules-notices-and-how-to-comply/specific-substance-guidance/cosmetics/updated-rules-for-cosmetics/"
},
"valid_from": "2026-01-01",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Check the product formulation against the group standard ingredient schedules",
"category_ids": [
"beauty-skincare",
"beauty-personal-care",
"beauty-haircare",
"beauty-fragrance"
],
"change_date": "2026-01-01",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2026-01-01: From 1 January 2026 every New Zealand importer of hazardous substances reports its NZBN and the HSNO approval or group standard for each substance to the EPA.",
"explanation": "In force. HSNO reporting requirements, Hazardous substances: information importers and manufacturers must provide (Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), 2026-01-01); applies from 2026-01-01.",
"scope": "Chemicals & Plastics, Cleaning & Household Supplies, Automotive Supplies & Care, Fire Safety & Protection Equipment, Seeds, Fertilizers & Agro-inputs",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-hsno-importer-reporting-2026",
"source_label": "Environmental Protection Authority (EPA), HSNO reporting requirements",
"source_url": "https://www.epa.govt.nz/hazardous-substances/before-you-import-or-manufacture/",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2026-01-01, applies from 2026-01-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-hsno-importer-reporting-2026",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "registration",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "HSNO reporting requirements",
"title": "Hazardous substances: information importers and manufacturers must provide",
"date": "2026-01-01",
"authority": "Environmental Protection Authority (EPA)",
"official_url": "https://www.epa.govt.nz/hazardous-substances/before-you-import-or-manufacture/"
},
"valid_from": "2026-01-01",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only hazardous substances under the HSNO Act",
"category_ids": [
"industrial-chemicals",
"home-cleaning",
"auto-supplies",
"fire-safety",
"agricultural-seeds"
],
"change_date": "2026-01-01",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2025-11-05: Fresh cut flowers and foliage enter New Zealand under the 2025 import health standard, and only when the species and origin are listed and a pathway is published in PIER.",
"explanation": "In force. IHS Fresh Cut Flowers and Foliage for Decorative Purposes 2025, Import Health Standard: Fresh Cut Flowers and Foliage for Decorative Purposes (Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand, 2025-11-05); applies from 2025-11-05.",
"scope": "Cut Flowers & Live Plants",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-ihs-cut-flowers-2025",
"source_label": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand, IHS Fresh Cut Flowers and Foliage for Decorative Purposes 2025",
"source_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/consultations/a-new-import-health-standard-for-importing-fresh-cut-flowers-and-foliage-for-decorative-purposes",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2025-11-05, applies from 2025-11-05"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-ihs-cut-flowers-2025",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "quarantine",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "IHS Fresh Cut Flowers and Foliage for Decorative Purposes 2025",
"title": "Import Health Standard: Fresh Cut Flowers and Foliage for Decorative Purposes",
"date": "2025-11-05",
"authority": "Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI), Biosecurity New Zealand",
"official_url": "https://www.mpi.govt.nz/consultations/a-new-import-health-standard-for-importing-fresh-cut-flowers-and-foliage-for-decorative-purposes"
},
"valid_from": "2025-11-05",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Species and origin country listed in the standard, with a pathway in PIER",
"category_ids": [
"floriculture"
],
"change_date": "2025-11-05",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2025-10-01: Recognition notices under section 272HA of the Building Act, in force since 1 October 2025, let building products certified under a recognised overseas scheme be accepted in New Zealand within the notice scope.",
"explanation": "In force. Recognition notices, Building Act 2004 s272HA, Recognition notices for overseas certified building products (Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE), 2025-10-01); applies from 2025-10-01.",
"scope": "Building & Construction Materials, Plumbing, HVAC & Fixtures, Hardware & Fasteners",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-building-overseas-recognition-2025",
"source_label": "Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE), Recognition notices, Building Act 2004 s272HA",
"source_url": "https://www.building.govt.nz/building-code-compliance/product-assurance-and-certification-schemes/overseas-products-and-standards/approved-products-certified-overseas/recognition-notices",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2025-10-01, applies from 2025-10-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-building-overseas-recognition-2025",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "certificate",
"actor": "supplier",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": "Certificate from a recognised overseas scheme, used within its scope",
"act": {
"number": "Recognition notices, Building Act 2004 s272HA",
"title": "Recognition notices for overseas certified building products",
"date": "2025-10-01",
"authority": "Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE)",
"official_url": "https://www.building.govt.nz/building-code-compliance/product-assurance-and-certification-schemes/overseas-products-and-standards/approved-products-certified-overseas/recognition-notices"
},
"valid_from": "2025-10-01",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only product types named in a recognition notice (for example RN-10001 showers)",
"category_ids": [
"building-materials",
"building-fixtures",
"building-hardware"
],
"change_date": "2025-10-01",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "established",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2025-09-01: Radio equipment supplied in New Zealand follows the Radiocommunications Regulations (Radio Standards) Notice 2025, released on 1 September 2025.",
"explanation": "In force. Radiocommunications Regulations (Radio Standards) Notice 2025, Radio Standards Notice 2025 (Radio Spectrum Management (MBIE), 2025-09-01); applies from 2025-09-01.",
"scope": "Consumer Electronics, Smart Home & IoT, Wearables & Personal Devices, Mobile & Computer Accessories, Audio & Video, Security & Surveillance Systems",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-radio-standards-notice-2025",
"source_label": "Radio Spectrum Management (MBIE), Radiocommunications Regulations (Radio Standards) Notice 2025",
"source_url": "https://www.rsm.govt.nz/about/news-and-updates/updated-radio-standards-notice-released-what-you-need-to-know",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2025-09-01, applies from 2025-09-01"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-radio-standards-notice-2025",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "declaration",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Radiocommunications Regulations (Radio Standards) Notice 2025",
"title": "Radio Standards Notice 2025",
"date": "2025-09-01",
"authority": "Radio Spectrum Management (MBIE)",
"official_url": "https://www.rsm.govt.nz/about/news-and-updates/updated-radio-standards-notice-released-what-you-need-to-know"
},
"valid_from": "2025-09-01",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only products that transmit radio signals",
"category_ids": [
"tech-electronics",
"tech-smart-home",
"tech-wearables",
"tech-mobile-accessories",
"tech-audio-video",
"security-systems"
],
"change_date": "2025-09-01",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
},
{
"key": "dated_change",
"state": "restriction_found",
"conclusion": "Applies from 2025-06-17: Disposable vaping devices are banned in New Zealand; the ban and related changes came into force in stages on 18 December 2024 and 17 June 2025.",
"explanation": "In force. Smokefree Environments and Regulated Products Act 1990 (amendments), Recent changes to smokefree laws (Ministry of Health (Manatu Hauora), 2024-12-18); applies from 2025-06-17.",
"scope": "Tobacco & Smoking Products",
"missing_inputs": [],
"sources": [
{
"source_id": "nz-disposable-vape-ban-2025",
"source_label": "Ministry of Health (Manatu Hauora), Smokefree Environments and Regulated Products Act 1990 (amendments)",
"source_url": "https://www.health.govt.nz/regulation-legislation/vaping-herbal-smoking-and-smokeless-tobacco/requirements/recent-changes-to-smokefree-laws",
"observed_at": "2026-09-17",
"source_as_of": "Act of 2024-12-18, applies from 2025-06-17"
}
],
"regime": {
"entry_id": "nz-disposable-vape-ban-2025",
"layer": "product",
"kind": "prohibition",
"actor": "buyer",
"legal_state": "in_force",
"document": null,
"act": {
"number": "Smokefree Environments and Regulated Products Act 1990 (amendments)",
"title": "Recent changes to smokefree laws",
"date": "2024-12-18",
"authority": "Ministry of Health (Manatu Hauora)",
"official_url": "https://www.health.govt.nz/regulation-legislation/vaping-herbal-smoking-and-smokeless-tobacco/requirements/recent-changes-to-smokefree-laws"
},
"valid_from": "2025-06-17",
"valid_to": null,
"condition": "Only disposable vaping devices",
"category_ids": [
"tobacco"
],
"change_date": "2025-06-17",
"ahead": false,
"machine_source": null
}
}
],
"drafts": [],
"coverage": {
"category": null,
"verified_entries": 17,
"note": "17 verified entries on this lane as of 2026-10-22. Name a product category to see the requirements for the goods. The register lists only what we have opened and quoted from the official act: silence is a gap in our register, not a clearance."
}
}
}Recommended next step
Reported facts with their official sources, not legal advice.
Before contracting, verify the Serbia supplier at the registry. Selling the other way? Can a buyer in Serbia import from New Zealand?